GlycoT 2018 closed in Qingdao


On the morning of June 22, GlycoT 2018successfully closed at the Triumph Hall of the Seaview Garden Hotel. More than 350 experts, scholars and students from 13 countries and regions came together at Qingdao. Everyone had a highly fruitful and enjoyable time during the conference. Professor Guangli Yu chaired the closing ceremony. He expressed sincere gratitude to all of the guests, on behalf of the conference organizers.

Prof. Guangli Yu

138 symposium abstracts including 65 oral presentation and 63 poster abstracts have been sent to the symposium. On June 19th, 15 young scientists gave short poster presentations in welcome reception dinner, and 10 of them were awarded the Best Poster. Then, Prof. Jianxin Gu, the chairman of the GlycoT 2018, announced the winners of the Best Poster Award (For details, see the appendix.). Prof. Naoyuki Taniguchi, the founder of the international symposium of GlycoT, together with Prof. Jianxin Gu and Prof. Guangli Yu awarded the winners with honor certificates and $150. The list is as follows:

Prof. Jianxin Gu

The winners of the Best Poster Award

Then, Prof. Guangli Yu thanks to volunteers for their joint efforts and excellent preparation during the GlycoT 2018, and invited the volunteers to the stage to have a group photo together.

The volunteers of GlycoT 2018

In the end, Prof. Naoyuki Taniguchi gave the final closing remarks. He expressed his gratitude to the organizers for their kind treatment and to all the guests for their participation. It is really the biggest GlycoT meeting so far, and he expected that the future of this meeting will be more successful. Prof. Taniguchi also pointed out that the research on glycoscience in China is continuing expanding, and wished a better future of glycoscience in China.

Prof. Naoyuki Taniguchi

GlycoT 2018. Ichiban(‘number 1’ in Japanese)

The next GlycoT meeting will be held in one of three candidate places, Boston, Puerto Rico, and Sapporo.

                 Goodbye, Qingdao. Let’s meet again on GlycoT 2020.